Competitions update

Captains Corner : Competitions update

Just a quick update on our recent men's Club Trophy winners:


Captains' Trophy was won by Tom Pattinson with 41 points

The Sam McRae Putter: won by Kevin Parker with a nett 65

The Rowe Victory Cup: Jim Kirby also with a nett 65

The Reid Vase winner was Past Captain John Harrison with a nett 67:  Dan McCarthy had been first off and leading all day, only to be beaten on count back, by last out John: This is the second time this season and 20th time (it seems) in his career that Dan has suffered this fate: Unlucky Dan!


The Pease Medal (scratch) is older than the US Open: first played for in 1892:  Dave Ridley back to form, after a 'slow' start to the season, picked up his second win with a gross 70

The Pease Coronation Cup (36 holes) was won by last year's order of merit winner Marcos Kairinos. with a total of 138 nett.


Early season winners:-

Jim Screen Trophy  Dave Ridley 

William Hilton Salver: Mark McCollam 

Centenary Cup: Darren Naylor 

Pendower Medal:  Andrew Minnikin 


The Order of Merit  

Dan McCarthy has the consolation of leading the order of merit on 93 points, having been been beaten twice on count back in trophy competitions this year.

Dave Ridley is 2nd on 91 and Paul Stewart is 3rd on 85 with Jim Kirby.


A reminder to competitors to return your scores after playing in a compeition. In strokeplay you must continue to record and enter scores of the holes completed, even if you 'NR' early in the round.: the WHS system requires as much information as possible to accurately calculate handicaps.

Also please endevour to play your knockout matches on time, and record the result on the app: no extension to deadline dates will be permitted.


Geoff Davison

Men's Captain

Copyright © City of Newcastle Golf Club, 2011-2022. All Rights Reserved.

Website Design and Cloud Hosting by
Golf Club CMSWebsite System - Golf Club CMS
Switch to Desktop ViewSwitch to Mobile View